Wednesday, January 02, 2008

2nd Annual TCR Awards

The TCR Awards are a feature unique to this blog. The vision of the TCR awards is to give recognition to the horses whose on track accomplishments have merited special notice. We need your votes to help decide the rightful year-end champions.

TCR point standings have been updated all year long giving us a picture of every horse’s accomplishments in numerical form. For a more detailed look at how the TCR is calculated you may visit here. You can also view the complete standings from 2007 to 1999 as well as last years TCR Award results at this link.

Now is the chance for us, the fans of Thoroughbred racing, to vote on the horses that we feel were the most accomplished and thus the most deserving of year end recognition.

Voting is easy. Below you will find a list of the top TCR ranked horses in each division along with their point totals for the year. Simply take all 5 horses and rank them in the exact order of your preference. You may either post them as a comment, or send me your votes via personal email (

Please familiarize yourself with these horses and their accomplishments in 2007 prior to voting. A link to the DRF Past Performances for the contenders for each division can be found here.

You do not need to vote for all 10 awards. You can simply vote for one division if you wish. However in order to be valid a vote must include all 5 of the finalists ranked in the exact order of your preference. Voting will close at midnight Jan 20th and the results will be posted on Jan 21st.

Votes will account for 50% of the final total. The final 2007 TCR standings will account for the other 50% of the consideration. The award will be given to the horse that has the highest combined point total and votes received.

All award finalists have met the following criteria:
- The finalist must have made three starts minimum in America.
- The finalist must meet the age and gender requirements of the division to be eligible.
- The finalist must have won a graded stakes in current season.
- The finalist must have run three races within the division in order to be eligible for that division.
- The finalist must have finished in the top five in the TCR after the above filters have been applied.

Thank you for supporting this project!

Here are the 2007 Finalists and their respective TCR scores.

Horse of the Year
Curlin - 460.20
English Channel - 339.40
Street Sense - 311.08
Hard Spun - 292.08
Ginger Punch - 291.38

Older Male (Dirt & All Weather)
Lawyer Ron - 255.60
Midnight Lute - 213.90
Lava Man - 205.72
Student Council - 168.00
Awesome Gem - 163.60

Older Female (Dirt & All Weather)
Ginger Punch - 291.38
Nashoba's Key - 196.30
Hystericalady - 183.50
Miss Shop - 143.74
Balance - 137.60

Turf Male
English Channel - 339.40
Kip Deville - 242.80
After Market - 225.70
Cloudy's Knight - 204.44
Nobiz Like Showbiz - 191.86

Turf Female
Precious Kitten - 214.52
Citronnade - 212.10
Nashoba's Key - 196.30
Lahudood - 168.38
Honey Ryder - 133.30

Sprinter (All Surfaces)
Midnight Lute - 213.90
Greg's Gold - 151.34
Idiot Proof - 141.11
Smokey Stover - 116.62
Kelly's Landing - 113.04

Female Sprinter (All Surfaces)
River's Prayer - 137.02
Dream Rush - 118.30
Maryfield - 105.78
Pussycat Doll - 100.68
Oprah Winney - 97.56

3yo Male (All Surfaces)
Curlin - 460.20
Street Sense - 311.08
Hard Spun - 292.08
Nobiz Like Showbiz - 191.86
Tiago - 190.08

3yo Female (All Surfaces)
Rags To Riches - 232.30
Octave - 177.50
Panty Raid - 152.46
Lady Joanne - 122.20
Dream Rush - 118.30

2yo Male (All Surfaces)
War Pass - 167.22
Kodiak Kowboy - 84.41
Salute The Sarge - 76.02
Wicked Style - 71.08
Into Mischief - 61.36

2yo Female (All Surfaces)
Indian Blessing - 125.14
Country Star - 73.88
Pure Clan - 62.78
Proud Spell - 56.55
Rated Fiesty - 44.24

1 comment:

Chris said...

1. Curlin
2. Street Sense
3. English Channel
4. Hard Spun
5. Ginger Punch