Tuesday, January 22, 2008

TCR Awards 2007

The votes have been tallied and the final results tabulated. Curlin wins the TCR Horse of the Year by a substantial margin!

The TCR Awards are a unique feature to Kennedy's Corridor. The vision of the TCR Awards is to give recognition to the horses whose on track accomplishments have merited special notice.

TCR point standings have been updated all year long giving us a picture of every horse’s accomplishments in numerical form. These point standings are then combined with a fans vote at the end of the year to determine the champions.

For a more detailed look at how the TCR is calculated you may visit here. You can also view the complete standings from 2007 to 1999 as well as detailed results from the TCR Awards at this link. The TCR Award results will also be on display on the sidebar for the next week.

2007 TCR Award Winners
Horse Of The Year - Curlin
Older Male - Lawyer Ron
Older Female - Ginger Punch
Turf Male - English Channel
Turf Female - Precious Kitten
Male Sprinter - Midnight Lute
Female Sprinter - River's Prayer
Three Year Old Male - Curlin
Three Year Old Female - Rags To Riches
Two Year Old Male - War Pass
Two Year Old Female - Indian Blessing

No major surprises as all 11 award winners were also the top ranked horses in the TCR standings. All but one winner (River's Prayer) were also the top vote getter's in each category. The Turf Female Division was a contentious one but top scorer Precious Kitten also received the most votes from fans narrowly over Lahudood. She had a champions campaign and is a most deserving winner. River's Prayer finished first in the rankings and a narrow second in the voting and that was enough to hold off Dream Rush and Maryfield who both received a lot of support as well. In fact those three were separated by less than 2% in the voting. River's Prayer never lost in 2007 and she won on 3 different surfaces including a sound beating of Maryfield in the G-1 Princess Rooney.

I think this was yet another successful year for the TCR Awards as it continues to demonstrate that point systems despite the fears surrounding them, do come out with logical results. And that a well thought out approach in terms of voting guidelines, divisional guidelines could easily be adopted.

We look forward to an excellent 2008. Standings for the current year will be posted starting next week.

1 comment:

peeptoad said...

The awards were pretty straightforward this year; all divisions save for the F&M sprint and maybe F&M turf seemed to have a clear cut contender for top year honors. Fortunately the TCR awards got it right by awarding both Precious Kitten and River's Prayer top honors in those divisions. Another strong argument that point systems are the way to go, and the end-all-be-all is not necessarily the Breeders Cup.